Mango Pudding

20130609-000743.jpg
I stumbled upon a recipe for mango pudding while reading an old issue of Eating Well. Friends of mine have been raving about mango pudding made by their Chinese relatives. Since I love only sweetened condensed milk more than I love mangoes, I was already sold on the idea.

I then went to the grocery store to find a sale on mangoes, the ataulfo kind, as in, the only real mangoes. Don’t even talk to me about the big red ones! So, it was fate. I bought a whole bunch (5 to be precise), chopped them up and puréed them.

20130609-001125.jpg

20130609-001207.jpg Then I added a can of low fat sweetened condensed milk and the juice of 1 lime to the purée. The original recipe called for first putting the purée through a sieve, but I’m a busy cook. Ain’t nobody got time for sifting or straining.

20130609-001448.jpg
Then I prepared two packets of gelatine ( enough for 4 cups of liquid ) in the laziest way, by pouring 1/2 cup of water , letting the powder dissolve, microwaving it for 20 seconds and then stirring. I folded it into the mango mixture and poured it into greased containers.

You’re supposed to put them in ramekins, set them in the fridge for about 2 hours, and unmold them. I don’t have ramekins so I used mismatched Tupperware, whichever were about the size I wanted.

20130609-001820.jpg That made the pudding look a bit funky when unmolded. Oops. I’m a busy student living in a city constantly begging me to go out and play. I want my blog to show my real life, weird Tupperware puddings included. I love Instagram, but it almost gives me this complex about my cooking, that if it doesn’t look as good as these people’s, I have failed. Sometimes, like now, I remember that I cook because it’s fun and I love to eat tasty things.

The pudding was delicious and I served it to the friend I made dinner for. Rave reviews all around.

20130609-002446.jpg

Leave a Reply

