A little cheese, a little coffee

20130617-232727.jpg
I went to Saint-Lambert, on the south shore of Montreal, for lunch with a friend at a cheese shop. It’s called l’échoppe des fromages, and is similar to the cheese shops you’d find in Europe, but minus the stink. If you’ve been to France, you know what I mean.

I used to eat lunch here often when I lived on the South Shore. If you haven’t been, it’s worth it. It’s located on a trendy street and many Quebec celebrities live nearby, so you might catch a glimpse of one.

20130617-232741.jpg We ordered a large cheese platter to share. It came with 3 cheese choices and one charcuterie choice. We got an aged cheddar, a goat cheese, and another local hard cheese, with a duck terrine, which stole the show. The platter came with fruit and endless baguette toast. The price is by weight, so the platter can vary a lot in price depending on the cheeses you are given.

I want to rave about the café au lait served in a bowl. It was an actual, ceramic bowl. My pet hate is clear glass mugs, I simply refuse to drink hot beverages out of them. I just don’t enjoy them if they’re in glass! Last time I went out for breakfast with the boyfriend, he ordered a café au lait in a mug. I wanted mine in a bowl, as it was indicated on the menu. As it turns out, his came in a proper ceramic cup, mine came in a larger glass mug. How that is a bowl, I don’t know. Anyways, the coffee at l’Échoppe was amazing.

The service wasn’t great, but all the other times I had great service, so we might have hit a bad waitress.

20130617-232755.jpg
If you want to downshift, sip coffee and eat delicious cheese, take a trip to the South side. Student alternative? Go to Provigo, buy 2-3 cheeses that are on sale, 1 charcuterie, some fruit and some baguette. Lots of money saved. I’m actually going to do this, but as a picnic.

Leave a Reply

